• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
Contacts

Address: 13, bld 4 Myasnitskaya str., Moscow 101000,

Phone: +7 (495) 772-95-90 ext. 12-604, 12-605,
12-368 (transportation planning),
12-150 (PR & communications)

Email: city@hse.ru

Administration
Supervisor Kirill Puzanov
Academic Supervisor: 'Urban Planning' Programme Oleg Baevskiy
Academic Supervisor: 'Urban Development and Spatial Planning' Programme Ruslan Goncharov
Anton Vorobyev
Academic Supervisor: 'Transportation Planning' Programme Anton Vorobyev

Call for Papers: The Spatial Organization of the Civil Service

16+
*recommended age

Urban Studies magazine invites submissions and article proposals for the third issue of 2021 dedicated to administrative capitals and the distributed service model. The co-editor of the thematic issue is Vadim Rossman, Doctor of Philosophy and Political Science (University of Texas at Austin).

Administrative Capitals and the Distributed Civil Service Model

The topic of the third issue is the spatial organization of the civil service. The capital is usually associated with a concentration of civil servants and is often defined as the seat of government and civic bureaucracy. While cities would emerge as places dominated by commercial classes and their interests, the capitals of modern states have typically emerged as places of concentration of officials and civil servants concentrate. Today, many countries are undertaking large-scale projects transferring government agencies and civil servants to alternative locations to establish a distributed civil service system and to decongest the capital city. 

Sometimes they also shift the former federal functions to lower levels of government (devolution). In particular, such developments are taking place in the UK, USA, Australia, Canada, South Korea, Scandinavia and many European countries. Although some of these projects may not seem large-scale, governments are pursuing steps in this direction. 

One way to disperse capital city functions is the development of administrative cities (e.g. Putrajaya in Malaysia) or capital city regions through a network of cities (e.g. Sejong, Incheon, Gwacheon, Daejeon in South Korea) with different administrative or other functional responsibilities. Such developments are geared toward downsizing the respective capital cities, making them the centers mainly of elected authorities (parliament) rather than the seats of government. Hence, the administrative functions of the capital fade into the background. 

Historically, many centers of civil administration have sprung up within larger urban centers or in close proximity to them. Such developments can be exemplified not only by modern New Delhi, Quezon City or New Kabul, but also by the Prague New Town (Nové Město) of Charles IV, Shahresabz of Amir Temur, or the plans for the construction of the government quarter (Shahestan-Pahlavi) in Tehran considered by Reza Pahlavi.

Putrajaya, Malaysia
Putrajaya, Malaysia
http://turbina.ru/q/photo/1/662027/

We Invite Submissions

In this issue, we will reflect on the current state of civil service in connection with the forms of its spatial organization and transformations caused both by federalist and integralist ideas and technological progress, along with the principles of deploying civilian servants in particular regions of different countries. It will also be interesting for us to compare different concepts of the civil service, adopted in different countries and mega-regions, and the variety of civic architectures.

We welcome a range of methodological approaches, as well as interdisciplinary and comparative approaches to the proposed topic. We would be interested in articles where the capital is seen not only as a special function but also as a unique process. We would appreciate contributions from urbanists, archaeologists, historians, art historians, sociologists, political geographers, architects and architectural historians, political scientists and experts in public administration.

How To Become an Author

By March 14, send a short abstract of up to 250 words to the email usp_editorial@hse.ru (please specify the subject of the email). Authors whose annotations are selected will be required to submit full articles by 24th May 2021.

Add to calendar

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
Контакты

Адрес: 101000, Москва,
ул. Мясницкая, д.13, стр. 4

Телефон: +7 (495) 772-95-90
доб. 12-604 (учебный офис),
12-368 (транспортное планирование),
12-605 (программы ДПО),
12-150 (PR и коммуникации)

Email: city@hse.ru

Руководство
Заместитель руководителя школы Воловик Юлия Алексеевна
Академический руководитель программы «Городское планирование» Баевский Олег Артемович
Академический руководитель программ «Управление пространственным развитием городов», «Транспортное планирование» Гончаров Руслан Вячеславович
Академический руководитель программы «Прототипирование городов будущего» Зарудная Екатерина Борисовна

Call for papers: журнал «Городские исследования и практики» объявляет прием материалов в третий номер

16+

Журнал «Городские исследования и практики» приглашает авторов к  участию в тематическом номере, посвященном пространственной организации гражданской службы. Приглашенный редактор номера — Вадим Россман, доктор философии и политических наук (University of Texas at Austin).

Столицы: новый подход

Столичность обычно связывается с концентрацией гражданских служащих, и нередко сама столица определяется как место пребывания правительственной бюрократии.  Если город как таковой возникает как место доминирования коммерческих классов и интересов, то столицы современных государств часто возникали как места концентрации чиновников и гражданских служащих. Сегодня многие современные страны осуществляют масштабные проекты переноса правительственных учреждений и гражданских служащих в рамках проектов де-концентрации федеральных ведомств и создания системы распределенной гражданской службы. Такие мероприятия осуществляются, в частности, в Великобритании, США, Австралии, Канаде, Южной Корее, Японии, Скандинавии и многих других европейских странах, хотя их проекты могут казаться не столь масштабными.  

Одной из форм рассредоточения столичных функций стали, в частности, административные города (Путраджайя в Малайзии) или сети административных центров в столичном регионе (Седжон, Инчхон, Квачхон, Тэчжон в Южной Корее), которые позволяют разгрузить столицы, сделав их центрами главным образом избранных органов власти (парламент).  Таким образом, административные функции столицы отходят на второй план. Исторически многие центры гражданской администрации возникли внутри крупных городских центров как их дополнение.  Поэтому примерами здесь могут служить не только современные Новый Дели, Кесон-Сити или Новый Кабул, но и новый пражский град (Новое Место) Карла IV, преобразованный Шахрисабз Амира Темура или планы строительства правительственного квартала (Шахестан-Пехлеви) Резы Пахлеви внутри Тегерана.

Путраджайя, Малайзия
Путраджайя, Малайзия
http://turbina.ru/q/photo/1/662027/

Приглашаем авторов

В данном номере мы попытаемся поразмышлять о сегодняшнем состоянии гражданской службы в связи с формами ее пространственной организации и трансформациями, вызванными как федералистскими и интегралистскими идеями, так и технологическим прогрессом, а также о принципах размещения подразделений гражданских чиновников в соответствующих частях и регионах различных стран. Здесь нам также будет интересно рассмотреть различные концепции гражданской службы, принятые в разных цивилизациях.

Мы приветствуем разнообразие методологических подходов (производство пространства Анри Лефевра, акторно-сетевая теория Бруно Латура с его плоскими онтологиями, волюметрические теории города с их вниманием в объемами и уровням развития города (Дональд Макнейл), теории национального строительства), а также междисциплинарные и сравнительные подходы к предложенной теме. Нам были бы интересны статьи, где столичность видится не только как особая функция в совокупности ее материальных воплощений, но и как уникальный процесс. Приглашаем к диалогу урбанистов, историков, социологов, архитекторов и историков архитектуры, политологов и специалистов по государственному и муниципальному управлению.

Как принять участие

В срок до 14 марта присылайте краткую аннотацию до 250 слов на электронную почту журнала usp_editorial@hse.ru с указанием «аннотация_Пространственная организация гражданской службы» в теме письма. Авторы отобранных аннотаций должны будут предоставить полные статьи до 24 мая 2021 года.

Добавить в календарь